Today I’m going to go wildly off the tech topic of this blog and briefly discuss the new Carole King memoir titled Natural Born Woman and upcoming new album titled Legendary Demos. Carole was of course, a part of the classic Brill Building songwriting group of the early sixties and has been writing and recording great songs for decades. Carole’s classic hits include:  Chains, Hi-De-Ho, I’m Into Something Good, It’s Too Late, Jazzman, The Loco-Motion, (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman, One Fine Day, Pleasant Valley Sunday, So Far Away, Take Good Care Of My Baby, Up On The Roof, Will You Love Me Tomorrow and You’ve Got A Friend.

King’s new memoir, A Natural Woman, chronicles her long and creative musical career. She also has a new album coming out April 24, titled The Legendary Demos that features some of the songs she wrote, or co-wrote, in the sixties that were famously recorded by other artists who used her demos as blue prints for their versions of the songs.

The album will include the following songs:

1. Pleasant Valley Sunday (Recorded by The Monkees),

2. So Goes Love (Recorded by The Monkees),

3. Take Good Care of My Baby (Recorded by Bobby Vee),

4. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman (Recorded by Aretha Franklin),

5. Like Little Children,

6. Beautiful (Later recorded by Carole for the Tapestry album),

7. Crying In the Rain (Recorded by The Everly Brothers),

8. Way Over Yonder (Later recorded by Carole for the Tapestry album),

9. Yours Until Tomorrow (Recorded by Cher and Gene Pitney),

10. It’s Too Late (Later recorded by Carole for the Tapestry album),

11. Tapestry (Obviously later recorded by Carole for her Tapestry album!),

12. Just Once In My Life (Recorded by the Righteous Brothers)

& 13. You’ve Got a Friend (Recorded by James Taylor).

Carole’s memoir is being added to the library’s catalog and will be requestable, via StarCat, shortly.

And the Legendary Demos CD will be arriving in about two weeks and will be available to circulate shortly thereafter.

And if you’d rather just be added to the list for either item, the book or the CD, you can also just send an email to me at: and I’ll put your name on the list for whichever item you’d like to peruse!

And on a final note, here’s a link to a short NPR article and podcast with Carole titled Carole King, From Doo-Wopper To Chart Topper that allows you to hear Carole discuss her memoir in her own words:

Linda R.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s